Yorktown High School Inducts 112 Students Into the National Honor Society

Congratulations to all 112 students who were inducted into the National Honor Society.

(From the )

112 eleventh grade students were recently inducted into the National Honor Society. Criteria for selection include outstanding performance in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 (on a 4.0 scale) or equivalent standard of excellence, or a higher cumulative average set by the local school's Faculty Council, meet the scholarship requirement for membership.

These students are then eligible for consideration on the basis of service, leadership, and character. Many of these students participated in a number of service activities this year, including collecting and shipping Halloween candy and books in conjunction with the Books for Soldiers program, making over 100 Valentines for children at Blythedale Children’s Hospital, creating bags with books, stuffed animals and blankets for homeless children, and serving as peer tutors in the library during and after school.

Board of Education President Jackie Carbone, Superintendent Dr. Ralph Napolitano, Principal Joseph DeGennaro, and NHS Advisors Suzanne Daria, Erica Knopp and Barbara Williams each commended the following students for their accomplishments:

Samantha Brown,

Daniel Camaj,

Colson Campbell,

Frank Cao,

Lily Cao,

Brian Cicola,

Mark Cicola,

Joseph Cirone,

Joshua Colon,

Christopher Crivelli,

Elizabeth Crumley,

Victoria D’Ambrozio,

Christa DiMaria,

Stephen DiMaria,

Amy Dobson,

Deanna Drenga,

Sarah Elkind,

Claire Ferguson,

Brittany Figueroa,

Megan Figueroa,

Conner Fleurat,

Kevin Fogarty,

Alexander (Alec) Friedman,

Marissa Galletti,

Sophia Garber,

Billy Goldstein,

Lauren Gorstein,

Rita Graham,

Daniel Green,

Christopher Gung,

David (Linus) Hamann,

Alexandra Hebard,

Bryan Horgan,

Dylan Horgan,

Emma Iaconetti,

Amy Issac,

Cydney James,

Ronald Kao,

Daniel Kaplan-Haubenstock,

Trevor Koelsch,

Emily Lin,

David Mancini,

Paige Mangione,

Alyssa Martin,

Joseph Mastro,

Maria Mavrommatis,

Mark McIntyre,

Justin Mei,

Kayla Michelson,

Amanda Millan,

Nicole Miller,

Avik Mohan,

Michael Montaruli,

Taylor Morgen,

Thomas Murray,

Jeffrey Naft,

Kate Nicastri,

Fiona O’Connor,

Yazmine Olivera,

Valerie O’Rourke,

Taylor Palumbo,

Francesca Panzariello,

Michael Park,

Donald (DJ) Peters,

John Phelan,

Nicole Quigley,

Charles Racioppo,

Alexandra Ragusa,

Hari Rau-Murthy,

Maya Rau-Murthy,

Olivia Recabo,

Timothy Reilly,

Ashley Robinson,

Ryan Roche,

Rebecca Roffi,

Julie Rothberg,

Paul Schwedelson,

Gabriel Senor,

Melissa Sharkey,

James Shea,

Jennifer Shkolnik,

Jacqueline Simpson,

Emily Skibenes,

Taylor Smith,

Kara Starkey,

Paul Stern,

Emma Tessler,

Alex Thomas,

Tanvi Tiwari,

Margaret Treanor,

Jessica Vecchiariello,

Victoria Walker,

Emma Weis,


Jessica Yuan,

Cristina Zangaglia

Jeffrey Zeren

Emily Arko,

Joel Baer,

Alyssa Barbuti,

Nicole Bartosch,

Marly Becker,

Christina Beechert,

Jacqueline Beechert,

Gabrielle Berne,

Kirsten Bloch,

Zach Bocian,

Alexandra Boehme,

Liam Boire,

Matthew Bordonaro,

Amanda Bowman,

Erin Bradford.

Margaret May 16, 2012 at 07:39 PM
You left some names out!
Plamena Pesheva May 16, 2012 at 07:49 PM
Thanks for the comment. That was the entire list that was provided by the Yorktown School District.
Joanne May 24, 2012 at 07:48 PM
For a complete listing of NHS recipients, you may contact faculty advisor, Barbara Williams at bwilliams@yorktown.org Thanks.
Erica May 29, 2012 at 06:53 PM
You are correct - the whole first page of names from the list we provided was left off. We will ask the patch to reprint or make the correction
Karli Wheeler May 29, 2012 at 07:18 PM
Dear Yorktown Patch Community, This was my error, and I apologize. I inadvertently excluded the first set of student names from the press release which I had provided to the media, which include: Emily Arko, Joel Baer, Alyssa Barbuti, Nicole Bartosch, Marly Becker, Christina Beechert, Jacqueline Beechert, Gabrielle Berne, Kirsten Bloch, Zach Bocian, Alexandra Boehme, Liam Boire, Matthew Bordonaro, Amanda Bowman and Erin Bradford. Thank you very much, Karli Wheeler, Media Manager Yorktown Central School District


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »